Health From the Sun Vegetarian DHA Supplements

Sun Vegetarian DHA Supplements
Sun Vegetarian DHA Supplements

Health from the Sun Vegetarian DHA Supplements are plant-based sources of the omega fatty acids family. The high quality, organic ingredients make the Health from the Sun brand of supplements a favorite among health-conscious vegetarians and vegans.

Importance of DHA Supplements

DHA is an important fatty acid that enhances brain, heart, and vision health.

Overview of Omega 3 Fatty Acids

DHA (Docosahexaenoic acid) is an omega-3 fatty acid. The omega family of fatty acids includes omega-3, omega-6, and omega-9. Each plays an important role in maintaining and enhancing health. The modern American diet tends to skew heavily towards consumption of omega-6 fatty acids, but our ancestors ate a much higher proportion of omega-3 fatty acids.

Within the brain, a delicate dance of chemicals and hormones influences our moods, regulates appetite, makes us sleepy, or enhances wakefulness. All of these chemicals and hormones must be produced from the foods that we eat. These foods, and their chemical makeup, provide the building blocks for all of the body's processes, including creating hormones and chemicals.

DHA is one of several fatty acids that the body uses to produce brain chemicals. It's also used in men for sperm production and among both sexes for improved vision and eye health.

Most people consume alpha-linolenic acid, or ALA. The body then converts it into DHA. This process, however, is inefficient, so taking DHA and its companion omega-3 fatty acid, EPA, are recommended for a variety of reasons. Research points to various benefits of supplementing with omega-3 fatty acids, including heart health, improved memory and brain function, and much more.

For more in-depth explanations of DHA omega 3 fatty acids and the role they play in health, visit DHA Omega 3.

Challenges for Vegetarians and Vegans

Some research indicates that DHA supplementation is essential for vegetarians. The January 2004 Journal of Nutrition printed an article which states that while omnivores, vegetarians and vegans show little difference in their body's composition of some substances, the meat eaters had considerably more DHA in their bodies than vegetarians and vegans. DHA supplementation, then, is highly recommended for both vegetarians and vegans.

Vegetarian and Vegan Supplements

Vegetarians and vegans, however, face considerable challenges when they seek to supplement their diets with omega-3 fatty acids. Most DHA supplements, for example, are derived from fish oils, and neither vegetarians nor vegans will consume them, since this means fish were killed to create the supplement.

Capsule supplements also contain animal products. Gelatin, which is used to create gel capsules, is a by product of the slaughter industry and is made from cows, pigs or a combination of animals. Again, this is off-limits to vegetarians, vegans, and various religious traditions that prohibit eating foods derived from certain animals or animal parts. Plant-based DHA supplements, like the one from Health from the Sun, avoid the use of all animal products, both within the product itself and in its manufacture. Plant sources, such as algae, evening primrose, flax, and others provide the omega fatty acids.

Health from the Sun Vegetarian DHA Supplements

The Health from the Sun brand focuses on natural, organic supplements. These include liquids, capsules, and other health-focused products.

Liquid Supplements

One of the most popular forms of the Health from the Sun vegetarian DHA supplements is a liquid, vegetarian, organic product. The ingredients label lists only plant-based sources of DHA: evening primrose, flax seed oil, borage oil, algal (algae oil), rosemary extract, and others. The liquid supplements are very popular. Many vegetarians and vegans mix the extract into blended drinks, such as smoothies and soy protein shakes for added and enhanced nutrition. The products are available in 8 ounce and larger bottles, both online and in health food stores nationwide.

Other DHASupplements

Health from the Sun also makes softgel capsules, chewable vitamins, and other supplements to enhance consumption of DHA. If you're vegan or vegetarian, be sure to read the labels before purchasing the supplements, since some do include fish.

Sources

Purchase Health from the Sun DHA supplements at health food stores, pharmacies, and natural products grocery stores nationwide, or visit any of the online sources listed below.

Health From the Sun Vegetarian DHA Supplements